Setting up a MYSQL database server

kjgizmo

Beta member
Hello

I'm a little new at this, so don't mind the stupid questions :)

I am trying to configure a MYSQL database server, and when I get startet on the configuring I get to following problems:

Adding a new connection:
connection-name : my-database
user : jep..........
password : k..............

Hostname : Problem here.. ?? what's going to stand here ?? something like: 192.168.0.1 `??

port : 3306

Type : Problem here.. ?? Which type is the best to configure a database from.. ??

'Hope u can help me here.. :D

Yes, put the machines IP address into the server box.

type is unimportant really, it makes a difference to the way that the tables are sorted and stored, but in realiity just accept the default, (unless you want to read up all about it).

root said:
Yes, put the machines IP address into the server box.

type is unimportant really, it makes a difference to the way that the tables are sorted and stored, but in realiity just accept the default, (unless you want to read up all about it).

I have tried to write the following IP: 192.168.0.1 because I have installed the mysql server database on my desktop, where I also will be running it from. But comes which a error..

what are I'm doing wrong here ??

Every MySQL database I have ever setup, the default is usually "localhost" and the username and password you used when you first setup the database. How is this setup? On a Linux box? Any reason why it's running from the desktop?

pctechmike said:
Every MySQL database I have ever setup, the default is usually "localhost" and the username and password you used when you first setup the database. How is this setup? On a Linux box? Any reason why it's running from the desktop?

I haven't been able to locate me a server yet.. But I have just talked to a friend, so I'm getting a server from him.. But I'll try write "localhost"..

thanx for your help :D