Running Two Softwares

aniketpk

Beta member
Hi friends,
I am newbie and this is my first post here.
I work as a distributor for FMCG goods which I purchase from two different companies and sell those products in our area two shopkeepers.
The two companies for which I am working as a distributor have asked for on-line billing of their products for which they are going to install the two different softwares in my desktop at my place. My problem is both the softwares are SQL based and hence need separate operating system.
I am not that good in hardware so expect practical suggestion from the below options.
1. Having the two hard disk in the cpu cabinet with separate OS(this one seems bit impossible if i am not wrong.)
2. Having the two partition on one hard disk and installing separate OS on each partition.

In case if somebody has another solution then please post it or can directly mail me at aniketpk@gmail.com

While I'm not specifically familiar with your SQL scenario, I have used 2 different OS, each on separate HDD within the same computer, as well as 2 different OS, each on a separate HDD partition, within a single HDD. I don't see why that should be a problem.

I'm a little confused.

I'm a little puzzled at why being SQL based means they need seperate operating systems?

Can you explain a little more about this software that they want to install on your desktop? Do you also need to install SQL or are you connecting to their SQL server?

Definitely need more info since it's possible to install multiple applications sharing a single local (or remote) SQL server, each application can have it's own DB on the server.

You say the billing programs are on-line which implies that the servers are remote and separate which is fine.