Running Perl or Python scripts

Laestrygon

Solid State Member
I tried to search to see if this was asked or posted already but it gave me something about a database error so I'll ask anyway. I am trying to learn Perl and when I try to run the simple "hello world" that my "absolute beginners guide" had me do I cannot run it. The book said to enter the command prompt and start-program name and it should run but nothing happens. The online tutorial mentions somthing about C:user/bin/path/to/perl or somthing like that. I typed that in exactly how it was written and it did not work either. If I installed strawberry perl in the default directory in win7, and I saved my file helloworld.pl in a folder on the desktop called perlscripts, how would I run this exactly. I am confused about this because the books and the online tutorials dont aim for teaching a complete idiot like me. Please help.

"C:user/bin/path/to/perl" is the path to where you installed PERL. Did you install PERL libraries / compiler onto your system yet?

If not, you'll need to do that.

If you did, then you'll need to open command prompt, CD (change directory) to the path where perl is installed, and then you'll either need to place the files you're programming in the same folder as the perl install, or type in the full path (i.e. C:\Users\username\Desktop\project\filename.ext, or whatever it is).

It would also be helpful if you posted a link to the tutorial you're looking at so we can reference it..

If you're going to be running perl from the command line fairly often, you will probably want to add it to your PATH.
There are loads of guides for adding entries to your PATH variable so I'll just summarise it as finding perl.exe, copy the file system path from explorer onto the end of the PATH variable in Control Panel\System and Security\System\Advanced System settings and remember that this is a list of values separated by semi-colons.