Recommended Scripting Books for the Absolute Newb

Status
Not open for further replies.

0a0x0e0

Beta member
Hi everyone. I joined this forum to look for some good advice!

I am very interested in getting into scripting. Not just a passing interest. I have spent many long hours staring at script I can't understand in lua, ruby and other variations of those scripts copying and pasting and doing a LOT of trial and error to get what I want.

But now I am fed up with trying to 'teach myself' to script, or to even ask somebody else to spoon feed me question after question. What I really need is a good book (a college course would be nice, but I'm way too broke to ever afford college). I just need a good 'ol fashion scripting guide for the absolute newb/moron/dummie. Somebody who doesn't know the difference between their right and left hand, so to speak.

I have searched and googled several online tutorials, but 99.9% of them even if generous in their 'starting with the basics' approach assume some basic knowledge, where I essentially don't have any. I have deduced some things from my own experience, but it's really nothing at all. I need help to lean everything, and I am willing to spend the money on books to learn.

Any recommendations would be very helpful.

Thank you!

-Jake

I've always preferred direct experience over leaning from a book or even an online tutorial but each to his own I suppose. By the way, you shouldn't be discouraged by what appears to be slow progress, I forget who but a wise developer once wrote an article about how it takes pretty much 10 years to become a good programmer.

What language were you looking into?

I've always preferred direct experience over leaning from a book or even an online tutorial but each to his own I suppose. By the way, you shouldn't be discouraged by what appears to be slow progress, I forget who but a wise developer once wrote an article about how it takes pretty much 10 years to become a good programmer.