Question about best choice for a second video card and Audio Card.

matthewc

Beta member
Hi I am a new member and this is my first post. I am a novice builder and put together a system for general web surfing, multi media and home entertainment, as well as light gaming.

Here are the details on my system:

Dell Precision 670 upgraded with the following:
-OS Win7 64-Bit OS
-2 x Dual Core 3.6GHz Intel(R) Xeon(TM) processores
-12 GB of RAM
-NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 1GB video card running twin 19" monitors
-Bluetooth Keyboard and mouse

I would like to add a good audio card and am open to suggestions, I listen to most of my music on this PC and watch movies on it as well.

I want to add a second video card so that I can feed my dual 19" monitors as well as a 50" and 42" Plasma at the same time. When I am hosting parties I would like to be able to V-JAY and be able to stream the videos into the three rooms that I have TV's/monitors in.

Thank you for any assistance,
Matthew

That first sound card looks really nice and is exactly what I am looking for!
Thank you for that suggestion.

As to the Video Card I really like the one I have right now and it has performed flawlessly for everything I have used it for. I know the Win7 Scoring system is not the end all but my current card does rate a 6.7 in Graphics and Gaming Graphics:
Display adapter type NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT
Total available graphics memory 4095 MB
Dedicated graphics memory 1024 MB
Dedicated system memory 0 MB
Shared system memory 3071 MB

I am pretty happy with it. Adding a second one of thoses would be absolutely perfect but the hang up is my motherboard only has one PCI Express X16 slot which is where my current card is located. My motherboard also has one PCI Express X8 slot(runs at X4 only), 1 PCI connector and, 3 PCIX Card connectors.