PSP help with CFW, homebrew, downgrading etc...

StratosP

Fully Optimized
Hey, I have a PSP 2000 (slim) and I'm new to this downgrading and firmware stuff.

Everyone has all these custom firmwares (CFW) on there psp and is it a good idea to trust Team M33 (Dark_Alex) and there firmware. Or should I stick with OFW.

I want to modify my PSP like make it play ISO's and shit like that, so can I do that with OFW by Sony?

If so, then how?
If not, then which CFW should I install, if I download a ported game like Quake 2 which is available to 3.xx CFW can I play it on 5.xx CFW like backwards compatibility?

Thank you all!

Hey, I have a PSP 2000 (slim) and I'm new to this downgrading and firmware stuff.

how old is it?
Not all PSP are downgradable, IE the 3000 series/newer 200 series. If your psp came with 4.xx+ FW, then you cant downgrade due to the new motherboard in the PSP.

Everyone has all these custom firmwares (CFW) on there psp and is it a good idea to trust Team M33 (Dark_Alex) and there firmware. Or should I stick with OFW.

DA is pretty much the only hacker out there. All the downgrades and CFW are made by him, and others that arent credited. I trust them, i Downgraded like 6 PSP and use his firmwares.

I want to modify my PSP like make it play ISO's and shit like that, so can I do that with OFW by Sony?

You can play ISO with OFW, but you have to buy them through the playstation network, which is around the price of the UMD. But you cant use Homebrew.

If so, then how?
If not, then which CFW should I install, if I download a ported game like Quake 2 which is available to 3.xx CFW can I play it on 5.xx CFW like backwards compatibility?

Any CFW is good. As long you get them from a trusted site. I would recommend getting the latest because of the ability to play recent games, and have the extra features.