Plan to get Guitar.... Any Guitar players here?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kdar

Daemon Poster
I thinking to learn how to play Guitar. always wanted to do that (I can play Piano at the moment).

So.. I am thinking of getting one for my self.
Probably acoustic.
But..
Is guitar have 6 or 7 strings?

Because the one they sell in near by store......have 6 strings.
But I do remember some guitar that have 7 stirngs..

People that play Guitar here. What would you recommend?

I'm relatively new to playing guitars, about 2 years, on and off.

A 6 string guitar is the most common. If you're a beginner, I suggest you stay with the 6 string, until you get a little more experience, and then move up to 7 strings.

Getting an acoustic guitar, is a good way to go, when you're a beginner. Just to get your feet wet, and getting a feel of it, before you start hittin' them heavy riffs. If you want to go into the good stuff, there a lot of electric starter packs, that should be good enough to practice with. But then those guitars really start to lose their sound, once you get more experienced. So if you can, save up for a guitar in the $600-800 range, for a nice one, that should last you.

I bought an electric starter pack, when I first started, and now it's feels like plastic. So I'm saving for a $600-800 range guitar. The starter guitars, like I said before, are good for practicing, but they don't sound as good, playing more complicated songs. Well, it would also depend on the player too.

Did it took you long to get good feel of guitar? get used to it?

I think it took me 6 months, to get a good feel. And then a year, until I started noticing, that the starter guitar's sound wasn't up there.

But then again, all players are different, and go at a different speed.

Yeah just get a 6 string to start out. The seventh string will just get in your way when your first learning since most songs/books don't have stuff for a low B.