Overclocking AMD FX-8150

skatrrklamp

Solid State Member
Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to overclocking computers but the Crosshair V Formula makes very easy to do, my question is, I have my CPU overclocked to about 4.1Ghz and it stays steady at 52 degrees when running The Witcher 2, I'll only get a warning if it goes past 60 which is the default for this processor. I've searched for a few days trying to find if this is ok or if I should tone it down a bit. I know it varies from one processor to the next so if there's really no way to tell I understand. Thanks will be given to all who help.

I'd say the temps are a little on the high side, but nothing too terrible. What temps are you getting at idle for a comparison? And what are you using to monitor temps that's popping up a warning for 60c?

What are you using for cooling? If you are using the stock HSF, I'd suggest getting something aftermarket to help with temps.

Also, if you could get a CPU-Z screenshot that would be good, that way we can see what your multi/fsb/voltages are at.

I'd say the temps are a little on the high side, but nothing too terrible. What temps are you getting at idle for a comparison? And what are you using to monitor temps that's popping up a warning for 60c?

What are you using for cooling? If you are using the stock HSF, I'd suggest getting something aftermarket to help with temps.

Also, if you could get a CPU-Z screenshot that would be good, that way we can see what your multi/fsb/voltages are at.

I'm using ASUS Suite II software with the motherboard, at idle I run at about 40-45 degrees, and as far as the cooling goes I just got a cooler master case but it only came with 2 fans (Intake and Exhaust). I took a screen shoytbut it says the file is too big to upload, sorry like I said I'm kinda new at this but I've been wanting to get better at it.

Last edited:
What is your cooling and what volts? Your temps are fine, but if you have a stock cooler replace it.