Next step in IT career path

mdfasoline

Beta member
Hello,
Let me start out by saying I am a new member to this site and relatively new to the field of IT. After reading tons of threads on the topic, I figured I would start one in hopes of receiving some more personal advice on the next steps I take in IT. I'm currently studying to receive my bachelors of IT at a California state university. I have about another 2 years or so before I graduate. I recently left my job working for AT&T as a retail sales consultant. AT&T provided a decent paying job (at least 40k/yr + benefits) for someone with no experience, but I feel it's time for me to venture into IT to get some hands on experience. I understand that an entry level job such as Help Desk support isn't going to pay more than $15/hour which I am okay with and I'm willing to work my way up.