Network with crossover cable

--jINKS--

Solid State Member
I recently got a NIC card to hook up to my bros, got a croosover cable and was rdy to play tribes from one cpu to another,but tribes or any other game can't find niether of our pc's, help would be greatly appreciatted :)

P.S I have tried entering in a "gateway" on the NIC properties still a no go

Direct connection with a cross over cable needs both of you to have static IP's and be on the same workgroup.

BullDog(UK)

can u ping the other computer?
and try sharing one file and check if the other computer can see that file.

ok @_@ i am totally new at networking, can u guys possibly give me instructions or point me in the right direction, on how to do what u said?? :confused:

ok his static ip is :172.161.100.2

mine is: 172.161.100.1

and as for the workgroup, both are comps is named "workgroup" where workgroup is. I don't know how to share the files, to test the connection, sorry

ok heres an update I found a tutorial on how to do it, problem is my PC won't allow me to share, if I right click on something it doesnt show the"sharing" option, but my bros will...now I need severe help plz

--jINKS-- said:
ok heres an update I found a tutorial on how to do it, problem is my PC won't allow me to share, if I right click on something it doesnt show the"sharing" option, but my bros will...now I need severe help plz
Right click on a folder, then choose properties (I think) and then choose the sharing tab. From there u can choose to share the file.

And as for pinging his machine.
start -> run -> cmd and then type "ping 172.161.100.2" without the ".
And then it starts to ping the ip, which is just sending small packets to see if it can connect to the other ip.
By default it will send 3 packets, if u want it to continue sending them just put "-t" (again without the ") as in minus t
so it would look like

ping 172.161.100.2 -t