Needs some help Concerning firewall programs

ziohausam

Beta member
Hi all

It is my first time here and i am very pleased to find this great forum that strongly gives major support to its members.

Actuallly my problem is little complicated... i know nothing about network and its concepts... and i am now in a situation that i am obliged to test a firewall program. and this will be within couple of days.. so i have downloaded some firewall programs to try to be familiar with it.. and now i face so many questions and options that are considered to be so difficult to me to understand.
i have searched alot about them and i found your great forum by chance... and i am full of hopes that i can find all answers to my problems here

i will mention now some of the options that i want to know what are these... and how exactly i can test them.

1- Allow/block outgoing DNS
2- Allow/block outgoing DHCP
3- incomming UDP Ports

as i have the answers to these 3 options.. i may have some else to ask about

I realy appreciate your help
Thanks

hmm... the easiest way to test these...

DNS works on port 53... easiest way to test this...

set up the firewall either to bock port 53 TCP, or if it has named services tell it to block DNS...

now start a command prompt, type nslookup
then type google.co.uk...

a name server should respond...

like this...
Code:
> google.co.uk
Server:  [192.168.88.1]
Address:  192.168.88.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    google.co.uk
Addresses:  216.239.59.104, 216.239.39.104, 216.239.57.104

now set yuor name server to something else...

type server 62.31.176.39

now... (if dns is allowed out you should see)
Code:
> google.co.uk
Server:  ns1-wol.blueyonder.net
Address:  62.31.176.39

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    google.co.uk
Addresses:  216.239.57.104, 216.239.59.104, 216.239.39.104

if not you should see a message saying something like this

Code:
> google.com
Server:  [62.31.176.39]
Address:  62.31.176.39

DNS request timed out.