Logon issue

irresistible007

Solid State Member
I am a Administrator type user and have enabled password protection, but Win XP SP2 is logs automatically on this user without asking for password, i have even turned Guests user on but still nothing working... where the prob is ?

you need to look at your accounts options and somewhere in the groups settings or something....i forgot exactly where because i can not view it right now (at school) but somewhere it will give you the option to use the normal login screen or the domain style. check and see if somewhere it says not to auto loginto an account...if it has a password thats odd that it is automadically logging in.

irresistible007 said:
I am a Administrator type user and have enabled password protection, but Win XP SP2 is logs automatically on this user without asking for password, i have even turned Guests user on but still nothing working... where the prob is ?

I've seen a similar thing on Windows 2000, it should be in the User Accounts options. I can't find the option on XP Home, so I'll assume you're using XP Pro. If you're on Pro, go to Run... and type in lusrmgr.msc - this'll give you a more advanced user accounts editor which isn't available in Home.

Hopefully that'll lead you in the right direction, although the option I'm talking about on Windows 2000 was definitely somewhere in the Control Panel...