Learning Computational Fluid Dynamics..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oreo

-Deactivated-
before i start i will make it clear i will shorten Computation Fluid Dynamics to CFD throughout the post.

For no particular reason fluid dynamics interests me, and i am studying Physics at college (not the american version of college, the UK's version :p) and i would like to end up with a job using computers designing stuff that uses CFD simulation software during the process of developing whatever it may be, valves etc.

So i may aswell start learning it now. So far i have discovered that the most widely used CFD software in the industry is called Fluent, so that is what i shall use. To use Fluent, i also need mesh generation software (quite a few people use Gambit) to create the mesh for Fluent to work with. But to create the mesh, obviously i need some kind of CAD software to make objects that can be saved in the .igs format. IGS meaning: "2D/3D vector graphics format based on the Initial Graphics Exchange Specification (IGES); used by many CAD programs"

So it's pretty confusing stuff. But what i need is some reccomendations of software to use, particulary CAD software that can save in the IGS format.

Thanks,
Oreo.

p.s. I had and still don't have any idea what section this should go in,so OT it is :)

Max, BNFL and there sub contractors are really interested in people studying Fluid dynamics for the next gen set of nuclear reactors coming online in the next 10 - 30 years. Having this on your CV could land you a lucrative job some day pal keep it up.

Yeh, Physics teacher was telling the class that the UK is really short of Nuclear Physicists and people working in that area, and that we'll need a lot for the new power stations. I don't think i'll be good enough at Physics to have Nuclear Physicist as my job title, but i reckon i can do this pretty well.

I just wish there was a guide on where to start and what programs to use though.