Laptop with dual monitors and thunderbolt 3

Polmohr

Beta member
Hey Techists

So i've been thinking about buying the Lenovo Legion Y-720 (has thunderbolt 3) gaming laptop, 2 monitors, headset and a mouse and a keyboard.
Since i'm a student i'm going to bring my laptop to school everyday. So what i want with this is to be able, every day when i get home, to just plug the thunderbolt 3 into my laptop wich i will place on a shelf under my desk preferably closed, during gaming and homework hours.

My question is:
Can this be done with a thunderbolt 3 adapter, or do i need a thunderbolt 3 dock? If i want to turn on the laptop, without actually flipping it open.

And will i be able yo play heavy FPS games, such as Battlefield and COD etc?

Been thinking about maybe getting the Lenovo thinkpad thunderbolt 3 dock or something simular for this.

Thanks in advance. All help is appreciated [emoji5]

Laptops have heating problems due to tight thermal variables being well....laptops. If you game with a laptop closed in a desk it's going to cook and shut itself off constantly. As to the dock, I'm not really sure. Before I left my previous position at work Dell, HP, and Toshiba were starting to bring us TB3 dock solutions for their notebooks but I didn't see any of them with an option to turn it on from the dock like some of the HP docks for older notebooks.

If this is the dock you're thinking about using it LOOKS like it has a power button on it.
ThinkPad Thunderbolt 3 Dock - US | Universal Cable Docks (USB) | Lenovo US

Since you can't actually blow the picture up I can't tell for sure. The thing about that is, their site doesn't say what wattage the laptop uses / what wattage the laptop PSU is. The USB-C standard has a max of 100W charging capacity so if the laptop goes over that the dock won't charge and run the laptop at the same time.

WIll you be able to play those games? Yes, easily at 1080p.