Laptop vs. Desktop, and how much should I pay given my needs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luminareo

Solid State Member
Edit: Not sure which forum this should be in (Gereral or High End) as I do not really know which one I need. I'm probably somewhere in the middle, but I'm pretty new to computers. Feel free to move this thread if you think I would get a better response elsewhere.

I'm sure you guys get questions like this all the time; "should I get a laptop or a desktop?" That's a decision I have to make in the near future, and I think I'm pretty well-equipped to make it. One is portable, one is customizable, one is accessible, the other is proficient, one is up, one is down, one is red, one is blue, etc. etc.. These differences are significant, but have more to do with personal preference than the superiority of either one. I do, however, require some expert help on one aspect of this difference: the price/power comparison.

A generally accepted fact: when a person buys a laptop instead of a desktop, they're getting a little bit less for a slightly higher price. It would make sense that you sacrifice some power, and pay a little bit more in exchange for portability. Where this becomes a little less simple is where you try to stick numbers on the difference. An article on laptop-computers-whiz.com suggests that the price/power benefits of a desktop increase exponentially as you spend more. While a $430 desktop may be similar in speed and power to a $590 laptop, a $2500 laptop may not even match a $1000 desktop. Would you guys agree with this to any degree?

Here's what I use a computer for:
Online school, while not as computer-intensive as one might think, recommends a computer that is free from many frustrations. As someone who spends the majority of his school time and his free time on his computer, I definitely want a system that is competent at the very least.