Internet connection being Throttled by ISP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bombs

Beta member
Hello everyone, i am from Brazil and i have a serious problem with my ISP since august 2011, my connection is 10MB cable , the problem is:

The quality of the service has been getting worse and worse from month to month, since 3 weeks ago to now the service turned out to be impossible to use, i am a computer technician and have only basic knowledge over networks so i been observing my connection traffic and stuff, the thing is, between (exactly and everyday) 9 AM to 2 AM it is impossible to use the internet, not able to play online games like starcraft 2 or download torrents, heres a video that i recorded on starcraft 2 when i am around this time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdB6ikvACms (playing Starcraft 2 above 60FPS thats not low fps that it might look like, its stuttering and lag spikes non stop)

But after exactly 2 AM until 9 AM the connection works pretty smooth, like it should, being able to play games with no problem and download torrents at full speed 1050 kbps.
Also, after 9 AM my packet loss increases to around 25% (both download and upload) until 2 AM when it drops back to 0% until 9 AM increasing again to 25% and so on, then i realized they have control of my bandwidth and maybe prioritize the big companys of my city in the hours i mentioned above.

Since august what they been telling me is that they do not have enough bandwidth to provide the city, without prior to repair it.

So i just wanted some hints from you experts on that area, cause i really don't really know if that is traffic shapping, connection throttling or packet injections, i am not sure and i dont have proofs on that.