I suck at overclocking!

CompMan

Fully Optimized
Hey guys can you help me out w. overclocking my processor in my sig?!

I absolutely suck at ocing since I really never did it.

If anyone else has this processor can you tell me your settings maybe?

My temps right now are 28C idle and like 37C while gaming source for hrs straight.

I'm looking to get at like 2.7Ghz.

Stable!

lol thanks!

I'm not too good at OCing either. I usually just increase the multipliers or FSB. But don't set it too high all at once. I would try 5-10MHz intervals in BIOS Setup. Did you just build a new PC? I noticed your specs are different than the one you use to have.

Just go into your BIOS and raise the FSB until it won't boot into Windows properly.
Then, raise the VCore voltage (basically increase the amount of electricity to the CPU) by one step. This is when you have to be very careful about temperatures though. Watch them carefully, I think the max on that processor is 65*C.

Repeat until you hit a wall. At this point you'll probably have to increase your chipset or RAM voltages. Watch

Once you get as far as you think you can, test for stability using the Prime95 torture test:
http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm

Run it for a few hours, if you don't get any errors, then it's probably stable. I don't know how far you'll get with stock cooling, but it's worth a try, especially if your temps are that low already. Although I doubt CS:S is really stressing that processor much...

Make sure you run a prime95 app for each core. Here's a a quick how to on running multiple prime95's. Its a bit overkill cause nothing stress's your cpu like prime95.