I really need some advice regarding a basic website

Thrasher

Daemon Poster
Hey all,

Around late 2006, a local promotional company named AdelaideMetal.com published on their Myspace that they were offering 3 sub-domains to any local Metal bands that were serious and did not already own a website apart from Myspace.

Considering sitting on the PC is what I do outside of music, I was the first to ask and the guy was happy to give my band a website @ http://kathexus.adelaidemetal.com and I do maintain it but I'd really like to learn more and I have a couple questions. I use Frontpage and CoffeeCup FTP software, pretty simple but I've just started a TAFE course in Multimedia Certificate 3 so I have some new software including Dream Weaver CS3 but there's been delays in my lessons so I'm still really new to it and very uninformed.

I'm only experienced with text editing, basic html code, file size management and using photoshop 7 pretty much but I do the best I can. It's pretty time consuming adding to our gallery page when I have to keep our image folder organized and setting up all those hyperlinks but I have the time to do it.

There's just this frustrating problem with using tables, once photos or text has been inserted and all done I go into ‘table properties' and then ‘cell properties' and choose black for borders and background - not automatic, just plain black. It turns black like it should to suit the page's background in Frontpage which looks great but then when I upload to the actual website, both in Firefox and Internet Explorer browsers: the table's lines show as white or grey lines and it's ugly! What am I missing?? I also tried the properties pane in Dreamweaver, the same thing happened, I'm lost.