How to connect/map to nas4free server with ubuntu

jreidsma

Baseband Member
Hi everyone :)

I am having trouble connecting to my nas4free server with my ubuntu laptop. It is running 12.04. So far I have made the /media/nas4free directory on the laptop itself but when I try to do this step I get an error:

any help is appreciated, I may be doing this wrong as I have never done this before :rolleyes:
Code:
user@ChrUbuntu:~$ sudo mount -t cifs -o username=jreidsma //192.168.1.10/public /media/nas4free
Password: 
mount error: cifs filesystem not supported by the system
mount error(19): No such device
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)
I was wanting it so I could edit the servers hard drive or files on this laptop like I can on my windows desktop. I just don't have any experience with servers like this or setting them up with other computers.

Last edited:
Are you able to log in to the file server via the file manager? In other words, let's cross the terminal method out of the picture for the moment. Can you open Nautilus, hit CTRL + L to bring up the location bar, delete everything there, and type smb://192.168.1.10/public, what happens? Can you log in from there?

When I do that I get a popup saying:
"Could not display "smb://192.168.1.10/public/".
error: failed to mount windows share
please select another viewer and try again.

In the file manager I can go to smb://192.168.1.10 and it opens fine, but the minute I try to open the public folder it gives me issues and says I don't have permission or that it failed to mount.

Last edited:
`modprobe cifs`
and try mounting again. If not, try a reboot. From what I've seen on the net, it seems like it's happening when users update the kernel.

Personally, I would NFS share it to ubuntu.

When I do that I get a popup saying:
"Could not display "smb://192.168.1.10/public/".
error: failed to mount windows share
please select another viewer and try again.