Hosting my own website?

Status
Not open for further replies.

StealthTools

Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
I have no knowledge what-so-ever on how to make a website or host a website... I have used Freewebs.com before.. but that's about it.

If I wanted to host my own website I know I will need a static IP Address so when my router is turned off and on my ip doesn't change..

Could anyone give me some tips on how I would go about making and hosting my own website?

I say 'hosting' because I don't mind hosting it, but for those who have experience in this is it definitely more expensive to get a Static IP from your ISP instead of buying a hosting service?

How would I go about getting a hosting service? can you recommend some? do I have to learn a programming language to use a hosting service? or do they have built-in easyness?

Sorry for being such a noob... I've been visiting webpages most of my life and have no idea how they are set up.

This would be a website with a main page, forum, integrated paypal-type store...

If your fairly new to creating web sites, like I am, I would recommend using a third party host such as godaddy.com or networksolutions.com and then just managing them via microsoft front page or the much further recommended Adobe Dreamweaver. This may not be what you are looking for but if you're looking to set p a server and deal with all that it starts to get pricey to do it the "right" way.

A static IP is not essential, you can use a service such as dyndns (which will emulate the behaviour of a static IP). To set up an account is free and will allow you to point a name towards your router. This will require setting up on both the service and on your router but we will be able to help you with both if you need.