Home Server (NAS)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Night Fox

OCZ SSD Enthusiast
Okay I want to get a NAS (Network Attached Storage) to hold all of my media files. Music and videos mostly.

Requirements:
at least: 6 SATA 1tb hard drives (only 3 tb total)(wanted to do raid 1 + 0)
Small form factor
Quiet
Be able to stream to any device in house (Windows PC, Mac, TV, etc)

I have two options: First, I could just buy one from a manufacturer...the most reliable I've seen have been Buffalo and Netgear. The two I've been looking at are:
RNDP600U
LinkStation Pro Quad LS-QVL/R5 Network Storage | Buffalo Technology

Or I could build my own:
I've had considerable trouble finding things that work. I'm not really good with small form factors...but here's what I have so far.
Newegg.com - LIAN LI PC-Q08B Black Aluminum Mini-ITX Tower Computer Case
Newegg.com - ZOTAC H67ITX-C-E LGA 1155 Intel H67 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard
Newegg.com - Intel Core i3-2100T Sandy Bridge 2.5GHz 2 x 256KB L2 Cache 3MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 35W Dual-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I32100T
Newegg.com - iStarUSA TC-400PD8 20+4Pin 400W Single PS2 ATX High Efficiency Switching Server Power Supply - Server Power Supplies
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Blue WD10EALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive (x6)
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-8500CL7D-2GBNQ
Newegg.com - ASUS Black 18X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA DVD-ROM Drive Model DVD-E818A7T/BLK/B/GEN - CD / DVD Drives

Which comes out to be: $916.70 w/ s&h

With the custom build I was thinking about using FreeNAS and it seems to have all the features that I need. Netgear's NAS has x-raid which, to my understanding, allows for expandable storage so I can just add another drive and I'm good to go. However, price wise, custom build seems to be more sensible as it's cheaper and it already has drives.