First time building a computer, help and suggestions? (First time poster)

_chocobo_lord_

Baseband Member
Alright, so basically this summer I plan on making my first ever computer. :D
But I'm a noob so I wanted to know: is it hard to make a computer? how exactly do you make it? any good step-by-step guides online? etc.

I'm aiming for a computer in the $1000-1300 range. I only need to find a cheap and reliable sound card and optical drive. I'm using my old Dell CRT monitor though. Here are the parts I have chosen:

Case: Aspire X-Navigator
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$154.00

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$297.00

Motherboard: ASUS SLI ATX AMD motherboard
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$102.99

Power Supply: Enermax Noisetaker 600 Watt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$168.99

EDIT: (wrong link I meant a GT, not GTX. My bad :( )
Nvidia Geforce 7800 GT
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$479.00

RAM: Corsair XMS 2 Gigs
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$188.00

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar 320 Gigs
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$119.99

Optical Drive: ??? Looking for a nice, cheap, easy-to-install combo drive that I can use for burning DVD, CD's, and playing DVD/CD games.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Speakers: Logitech X-230 2.1 Speaker
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$32.99

Sound Card: ??? I just need a cheap, decent sound card so my PC won't leech off the motherboard.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~$84.99

EDIT: Just realized my total with the video card comes to around 1,500. :(
Subtotal form Newegg: $1,133.95
Shipping: $44.61

Is everything compatible? How will it work out? I'm very nervous about building one...

Any reccomendations or thoughts would be GREATLY appreciated. :)

ok man that looks like a great system..but look at the reviews on the mobo...not looking too good...now the board u are looking at is nforce4 sli....now later if u do sli u will only have 2x pci 8x slots which make instead for around 150 u could have this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813188006