First Post Ever!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys I just got my sick new system but I used my old dimension dell 512 Ram stick in the new set up ( Be aware im a Noob in training)
and was Wondering to get to 1 Gig do I need to match the old one and buy another dell one?

b0dge said:
I need to upgrade my comp. Current spec: Athlon XP 2600+ (2144Mhz), Aopen AK77-600GN, 1gb Corsiar RAM, ATI 9800 PRO (AGP).
I can only really afford to upgrade my proc, so what i'm really asking is "Is a Socket A Sempron 3000 (2.17Ghz) any better than my 2600, and if so, is it significantly better?"

Can't find much in the way of comparisons on the net anywhere, so any help would be appreciated.

Cheers guys,
b0dge.

PS. Tried OCing the Athlon and it'll only get as far as 2208Mhz, so no luck there!!

PPS. Anyone know how well Skt A Semprons OC? (Generally)

Since then, I've got a new mobo, gfx, 512mb more Ram and got my 2600 to 2300mhz!!

I had a chaintech graphics card, it worked for two months and them BOOM! one day it just started booting up with nothing but lines. I still need to send it to the manufacturer cause they'll replace parts gone bad, but I don't know what cause it to go out in the first place. ASUS no longer has some of the best boards, an asus board with nforce chipset is what I had and it wasn't compatible with the GeForceFX 5700 card from chaintech so I had to get an MSI motherboard. Sooo all in all to answer the question I'd go with an MSI motherboard. I didn't care for ASUS and this MSI has been real good thus far

Guess that's mine.

Please keep in mind that I was a 13 year old know-it-all when I first registered on these forums. :p

Hi, my name is Bob, but some people call me Larry, and some other people call me Retard. I don't know why they call me Retard, but I think it's a kool name.

[truth]