Failing Hard Drive

brienoch

Beta member
Hi there,

New here, not extremely tech savvy, but also not an idiot. Here is a short summary of what is happening: I have an Asus laptop, I bought it about 3-4 years ago and it got through my last year of college plus a few more years afterward. It holds important files including only copies of original writings and some photos.

A few weeks ago, my laptop was attempting over and over again to update itself to Windows 10. It would go through a whole process (updating and installing, took a very long time) and after each attempt it would say that it failed. Each time it did this, my computer would start to freeze more and run slowly. I don't use my laptop very often anymore at all, since I graduated college I use it sparingly. After a while, it just stopped booting and started coming up with an automatic repair screen. After doing some research, I realized the issue was my hard drive.

At this point, I tried a few different ways to get the files off my hard drive and possibly reformat it and reinstall it in my laptop. I tried plugging in an external hard drive for the automatic repair, but it didn't seem to recognize or be able to access it. I tried removing the hard drive and putting it into another PC to transfer the files that way, but it wouldn't open. I tried using the cords to plug the hard drive directly into another PC, and it wouldn't open that way either.