Do I need a NAS? Worth the money for what I need?

DavidPreston16

Beta member
Hi,

I have a home PC with 4TB (almost full) of media. We also have iPads, windows tablets, iPhones, laptops etc.
I am wanting something where I can just store all media or other relevant files so that I can access them from any device without having to power on my main PC. A lot of time I am away from home too and would like to stream the HD video content to my devices. My home 120mb internet connection has good upload speeds.

I have no previous network experience what so ever and have been reading from site to site but am still unsure on what I need.

I have looked at the synology DS413j but am still unsure if it can stream HD video to a device away from the home network?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

NAS's are good and is great for what you want to do with it. the synology you listed is alright but i would not personally get it. do you plan on buying your own hard drives? usually NAS's have built in FTP servers or clouds. If i were you though i would google how to do a FTP server on your computer.

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. The reason I thought NAS is that I am away from home for long periods and didn't want my power hungry PC constantly running. I would like to stream my media with the PC turned off.

I understand that I will have to buy the drives separate but it's something I can do over time, just starting with one drive?

With regards to the synology, are any other more suitable/recommended for what I want.

Thanks again.

I do not know of one specifically but try looking at newegg.com