Data Integration

Jaymosk

Beta member
I have an idea for how to revolutionize the way information is gathered and sorted within my industry. However, it may be totally outlandish and unrealistic to put together semantically. I am fairly computer illiterate, so I need direction in how to ascertain the feasibility of this idea.

In general terms, I want to know how difficult it is to gather information from multiple sites on the web, some of which are paid subscription sites, others are public information.

I am an expert at sorting this data and can save hundreds of companies thousands of man hours, if I can find someone who thinks this is possible. I hope this is a decent starting point to begin this dialogue.

I'd approach universities, as they often have research arms open to business ideas and can easily put you in touch with competent people who can bring the project into reality.

I don't think it would be hard for public facing pages - guess what Google does this daily.

The harder part is if some of the sights are for-pay and you cannot index / access the data without a user ID you are stuck. Those companies will not willingly give you that information without you paying for it.

I don't think it would be hard for public facing pages - guess what Google does this daily.

The harder part is if some of the sights are for-pay and you cannot index / access the data without a user ID you are stuck. Those companies will not willingly give you that information without you paying for it.

Pretty much this exactly.

The public-facing stuff is easy - it's basically just a web-bot (called a spider) that "crawls" the web and goes through pages, scraping data.

The stuff behind paywalls/subscriptions are going to be harder to get.