CPU turbo

emperor76

In Runtime
Hi, I changed a setting in the BIOS to boost the cpu speed on my 1090T to 3.6ghz, in pc wizard it says Frequency : 3200 MHz - (current : 3553.28 MHz) so I assume it worked, I have no after market cooler on and a HAF 922 case, will this be an issue? and will the boost show any noticeable improvement?

Hey,

I'm far from an overclocking expert, you'll find much more experienced guys round here.
But from my brief experience providing you haven't changed the voltages, your computer isn't sat next to a radiator or in a very hot room and it isn't run for like 8 hours + at a time you should be ok.

The "noticeable" improvement is always down to each user, I mean if you were doing something like transcoding video that always used to take an hour and now it's regularly taking 50 minutes then I guess you'll notice the difference, for day to day tasks like wbe browsing and stuff I don't think you really will notice the difference.

Well... what are your temps?

You should get a proggy like HWMonitor and check the temps, both idle and extreme load. The max temp for this CPU per AMD is 62C. The consensus on the interwebz is to keep it under 55C. Anything higher and you should get an aftermarket cooler. If the load temp is less than 55C, then your cooler is working just fine.

Hmm, I'll perhaps take the turbo off until I get round to getting them, here are my current temps, the computer isn't really doing a lot at the minute, going to play either Skyrim or Civ 5 in a minute, so I'll take another reading during game play and post it, I have to say since changing from the Silencio 550 to the HAF 922 my temps have been massively improved

Attachments

• temps.jpg
    temps.jpg
    79.2 KB · Views: 9
Hey,

I'm far from an overclocking expert, you'll find much more experienced guys round here.