Build a PC for my TV from laptop parts

Eden84

Beta member
Hi all I'm new here as looking for some advice.

I don't know if I'm going to make myself stupid by asking this but is there a way I can build a small pc that I can connect via hdmi to my tv from my old laptop parts.

I have a Toshiba Satelite x205 and I absolutely love the thing. I dropped it last year and smashed the screen but couldn't afford to replace it. Since then I just plugged it into my tv via hdmi and it was brilliant I preferred it than having the laptop on my lap!

Now the power supply has gone bang and got to fork out £50 on a new charger for a laptop with no screen.

I've done a bit of research and seen a lot of people have been building their own HTPC's and they are fab and just what I'm after but can I buy a case and use all the parts from my beloved toshiba laptop and put into the case? I've looked at a couple of cases but confused where the hdmi out will come from? (I told you I'm a noob right?)

Any advice you can give me would be great.

I am a noob at this stuff but I really like the idea of doing this as a little project to fill my spare time.

Thanks in advance

Mark

No if you want to power that laptop you'll need the charger or at least have a lot of knowledge in electronics engineering to fab your own charger. As to putting it in a case the laptop shell is the best place for it.

So if I have an old tower with power supply etc is it not worth at least trying to move all the hardware from the laptop into the PC? Will it not work at all?

No because a laptop motherboard is not the same as a desktop motherboard. You have no place to plug that PSU in. The laptop charger IS the laptop PSU. There is also no mounting points in the case to put that motherboard. You would have to chop it up then try and figure out how to output that 24pin to the AC input to the laptop.