Book suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tenenbaum

In Runtime
Well, I recently bought a book for C++, and it didn't fare to well.
So, I've been trying to learn as much as I can from the video tutorials on www.3dbuzz.com

Though, I am willing to spend in excess of 80$ for a new book, that will teach me from bottom to top about C++.

I can't afford school at the moment, and not including I refuse to go to ITT Tech, as the school by me doesn't have any good teachers.
I hear tons of bad reviews about ITT Tech, and I don't think spending 40k every 2 years on it is worth it.

Any suggestions on learning on my own?
Any good beginner books to suggest?

I truly appreciate it, and know that it is C++ that I am going to learn, I will learn others later. (I have certain things planned to do with C++ at the moment)

Thanks

Yea I actually do have a couple of recommendations.

First though:
are you usually a self-taught type of person?
do you have any programming background? (type doesn't matter....more for terminology purposes)

From personal experiences, I dont like "for dummies" books. So I would stay away from them.

EDIT: I was trying to remember the dudes name from the ones that I have (The 3 that I have are boxed up) and after a few pages from amazon I found the guy I was trying to find: Scott Meyers.
Amazon.com: Effective STL: 50 Specific Ways to Improve Your Use of the Standard Template Library (Addison-Wesley Professional Computing Series): Scott Meyers: Books
There are 3 that he has on C++, this is the third. (Effective C++, More Effective C++ and Effective STL) but if you are a beginner, you might want to try a more ground base level reference first.