A+ Certification

OMGIMHOROFL

Solid State Member
First off I would like to say hello all, obviously new to the forum and excuse the user name I couldn't in good conscience use something real when I could pick sarcastic irony....

That being said I figured in the programming world somebody could probably help me the most. I actually went through culinary school and this was nowhere near where I intended to be as I had to have back surgery but I have always been good at it and until I can decide between the two I can at least do computers for now. Thus I would like to get my A+ certification which should not pose too much of a threat as I studied for it in the past and would not take much refreshing.

However anyone who is a professional, in your opinion would it be fine to get the certification now since I know the 2006 objectives rather well, or should I wait until the new year and find out what they are changing and just adapt my knowledge to the 2009 objectives?

as far as i know the certification is there.
so whether you took your a+ in 96 and only know about ISA architecture, or you take the A+ in 2009 and have to know SLI ISA PCI XPCI and all the other standards you are still a+ certified...

with this in mind you may as well take it now since you already know the objectives.

on the other hand, if you take it in 2009 you'll know the 2009 objectives which will help when you go to a job.
but... this is personal discipline.
ideally you should be able to take it now and continue self study to keep up with the industry.

(feel free to correct me if I'm wrong about the A+ not expiring).

Thanks for your reply, and I completely agree with the last statement you made. And anyone that does not self study has doomed themselves or unknowingly cast themselves backward with the exams.