Web security appliance vs DNS filtering

superdave1984

Repeat Offender
I have recently been tasked with taking over a network where all Cyber folks got fired at the same time. We basically have zero documentation on what they did, how they did it, or why. Best we can see it is kind of a mess.
Anyway, here is my current question: It appears that when they blocked a suspicious URL, they added an entry in their WSA as well as an entry in their DNS. What I have been doing for the past 6 years is only to add an entry in our WSA. What is the benefit of doing both and would one be better than the other? My guess is it is not necessary to do both, but I would like some input. I don't want to be doing double work if it isn't beneficial.

EDIT: We also add IP entries in the firewall.

Last edited:
Redundancy, that's all. Some things can slip by one and get caught by the other.
It also reduces load on the firewall if you're already stopping the traffic at the DNS level before the client ever tries to generate traffic to a URL you want to block. NGFWs can have some monstrous resource requirements (especially with machine learning becoming a standard feature) so the more you can do to reduce traffic passing them, the better.

It also reduces load on the firewall if you're already stopping the traffic at the DNS level before the client ever tries to generate traffic to a URL you want to block. NGFWs can have some monstrous resource requirements (especially with machine learning becoming a standard feature) so the more you can do to reduce traffic passing them, the better.
IPS maxes the CPU on my UDM Pro so yup, very true. Now I want them to make a faster one lol.

Hmm, I would add to both, for a few reasons...

1: Some people may, or may not use the local network DNS, having the good guys use the DNS lowers the load on the firewall.
2: The ones that are "smarter" will try to use another DNS outside the local network, this is where the firewall will catch those few people.