Why is it so hard to find a detailed motherboard manual?

CFu

Baseband Member
For example, for a modern OEM ASUS laptop motherboard I can only find the dumbed down user manual on the manufacturer's website (not the actual motherboard manual).

I'm looking for the motherboard manual which has instructions on for example: form factor (ATX, micro-ATX, mini-ATX,..), how to reset the BIOS, how to upgrade the BIOS, what jumpers represent what, electrical scheme/design (complete with transistor types, voltages, etc). In other words, specialized information, not general information.

In summary: the OEM manufacturer manuals out there are too plain, simple and lacking detail. Where do I find the actual technical motherboard manuals like the ones I described above?

You are very offensive without even knowing me.

First of all, I have a two degrees in Computer Science and second of all, I understand electricity, components, voltages and everything (for which I also studied).

You misunderstood that I didn't know how to do those tasks I asked about. Wrong, I know how to do them perfectly. They were merely examples to illustrate what kind of information you should find in a manual.

I'm done with you. Go disrespect someone else.

Computer science has nothing to do with electrical components and circuits. The fact that you even mentioned it is strange. Basic knowledge about electrical components and "voltages" is not nearly enough to understand such a complicated circuit. The fact that you don't know that is also strange. Even electronic engineers would have a hard time with it.

Also, why on earth would they put that in a manual if only 2% of the population would understand it? I don't think you comprehend the degree of technology you ar talking about here. Do you even know how many transistors are in there? If you do, a little common sense would tell you a block diagram would be huge and pointless.