Should I buy AutoCad?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pinoy3000

Daemon Poster
Hey guys, Im here in college and I was just thinking if I should buy AutoCad 2008. The retail price for it is around $5,000 but I can have it special ordered through my school and get it as a student version but its the full version of AutoCad. I can get it for $150.00!!!

So I mean, I can wait until I actually need it or I can buy it now, mess with it and learn how to use it.

I'm studying to be an Aeronautical Engineer. Going to be in college for a total of 6 years to triple major in Math, Physics, and Aeronautical Engineering. So eventually I'm going to need to know how to use this product and I need to have it before I graduate and when I start my Engineering Classes which wont be until 3 years from now. So should I wait and get it three years for now or get it now?

$150.00 for a $5,000 dollar software, thats a really great deal right there.

Also, if I do get it, I will be using it on my homework for Physics as most of the time I draw diagrams and stuff which would make it easier on AutoCad. I've used it when I was in high school. I took the class for one year making and designing houses and stuff. I want to relearn how to use it, so Im going to take the basic class again here in college to get started with it......

So I guess im asking you to decide for me :D

Get it or wait? They have newer versions every year btw.

Use google sketch up until you really need it as sketch up is quite powerful and free :D. Talk to your college I.T department and tell them to email if the offer is going to run out

Your graphics card isn't optimised for CAD btw so it may struggle in some more complex drawings...

Use google sketch up until you really need it as sketch up is quite powerful and free :D. Talk to your college I.T department and tell them to email if the offer is going to run out

Your graphics card isn't optimised for CAD btw so it may struggle in some more complex drawings...