"No Audio Devie" and "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2009, 05:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
Default "No Audio Devie" and "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System"

It's been a while since i've been back here. Busy busy busy.. Anyway, I have installed all of my drivers successfully, except for the the Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System. Also, I have "no audio device." My Realtek Volume control is loaded in the system tray but i have no audio.My Realtek Volume control is loaded in the system tray but i have no audio. I have an HP Pavilion m7463w Media Center with Windows XP SP3.
__________________

__________________
MaXiMuS_N00BuS is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 05:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: "No Audio Devie" and "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System"

Did you do a reinstall of windows?

Where did you get your drivers from?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 05:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: "No Audio Devie" and "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System"

Yes I re-installed 6 times already, and I've been spending about 13 hours a day on this thing since Saturday. But something told me to go into the BIOS and enable on-board audio. And it worked. So after all this time it's finally getting somewhere and now i have "No Audio Device" and the ACPI thing.
__________________
BCMusic is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: "No Audio Devie" and "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System"

Here are you most current drivers.
Select software and drivers*
Have you installed the latest chipset drivers?
If not this is most likely your problem.

The second most likely cause would be failure to install your storage drivers.

Edit: It appears as though there is no chipset driver for your board which means the default xp one should work fine.
Install the storage drivers.


On a side note.
Did you know it was against forum rules to have 2 accounts tied to the same ip?

If you have a legitimate reason I would pm Trotter to let him know so that the 2 accounts are not banned.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Actually I didn't even know I had 2 accounts

Ohhhhh......... well can this one be disabled?
__________________
BCMusic is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: "No Audio Devie" and "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System"

pm trotter from your other account which can use the pm function and let him know what is going on and which account you would like deleted.
Computer Forums - View Profile: Trotter
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: "No Audio Devie" and "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System"

Ok. Anyway, I installed those drivers already but the problem Persists.
__________________
MaXiMuS_N00BuS is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 06:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: "No Audio Devie" and "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System"

Try seeing if microsoft has an updated driver for it.

Open device manager.
Right mouse click on the device in question.
select update driver software.
Allow it to search the internet for driver.

also look at this.
Resolving Sound Problems in Windows 98, ME, and XP*
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 07:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
Default

yeah, neither of them worked.

I have two Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System devices in Device Manager. On of them is installed and the other one has a question mark next to it under Unknown Devices.

As for the "No Audio Device" issue:




__________________
MaXiMuS_N00BuS is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 03:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,645
Default Re: "No Audio Devie" and "Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System"

You have the wrong Audio Drivers. There are multiple Realtek HD Audio Drivers. Find a different set. Also try to use Driver Cleaner Pro to clean off the current set.

How do you know that the Unknown Device is a Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Device? I dont see anywhere that would give that information away. If you click on it, it will only say Unknown device Enabled and not functioning properly. So where do you get that it is a M$ ACPI Device?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.