What Graphics Card?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vialli25

Solid State Member
Hi, I have a relatively old omputer seeing as it's 4 years old. I want to be able to play the latest PC games on my machine but wondered if it was just a graphics card I'd need.

My PC Specs are

WinXP HE
1GHz Pentium 3
128MB RAM
40GB HDD

and I currently have a GeForce 2 MX. Now I know this is shit compared to what you guys have now, but all I wondered is, would it be ok for me just to upgrade the graphics card or would that not improve the performance of my games that much? Would I have to upgrade my RAM and processor aswell?

Cheers, James

p.s I know I'm a newbie so go easy on me...

wow, how are you running windows xp on 128mb RAM? you're gonna need a RAM upgrade, at least upto 512mb. The processor is kind of pushing it, but as long as you're not playing games like Doom3 and Farcry, then I think it should be okay . . .

As for the graphics card, it matters on what you want to do, and what your budget is

With perseverence and a little bit of knowledge is how XP can run on my computer.
Yeah, I wouldn't even try and play Doom 3 on my PC, it would most probably explode!
I just wanted it for games like C&C Generals and Sim City 4 so that the maps don't jerk around when I play them.
I'm most probably getting a new PC for christmas so do you reckon I should wait? I have about £50 to spend, know it's not gona get me much but I was thinking maybe the GeForce FX 5200 would do me until christmas.
Honestly though, is it worth it? Or shall I just wait?
4GHz processors are supposed to hit the shelves by this christmas aren't they?

I once heard that Sim City 4 jerked around on some guys computer and it had like 2.66 GHz on it. I know that when I played it, we wound up selling it because it was so bad, but that was just what I heard, I don't know, maybe he was lacking something else.
I, personally would wait until christmas for a whole new computer.