HELP - for new maintenance startup

Status
Not open for further replies.

chemaster

Beta member
Hello All:

This is the first time that I've been here so ... hello all!

I've been in maintenance / service tech (electrical / PLC's) for 20 years and recently received an exceptional offer to start-up a maintenance program from scratch with only concrete existing at this point. The department will be quite small but a critical component to a high-profit medical product assembly station. The assembly station has 6 PLC's, 10 computers (PCÂ’s) and basic assembly automated equipment.

I have extensive experience with similar equipment (different product line) and am not too concerned with the PLC's and assembly stations ... etc.

However, I am mainly concerned about being able to professional maintain the PC hardware / Networking side. I also have 10 years of programming experience and have replaced hard-drives, RAM ... etc. on my personal computers but not on a professional level. I do not need to trouble-shoot componet level. Just replace supplies, hard-drives, RAM ... etc.

- Any suggestions on must-have testing equipment for trouble-shooting personal computer hardware?
- Any suggestions on must-have testing equipment for trouble-shooting networking, serial port and printing connections?
- Any suggestion on must-have installable trouble-shooting software.
- Any suggestions on setting-up a test station

Any other suggestions are welcome!

Many Thanks,

You can buy ethernet networking test kits that verify cables are running and test entwork speed and soforth, like this one http://www.buytester.com/network_testers/6269.asp .