Fan turns on, computer does not. Hardware or Software problem?? Please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jazzymoon

Beta member
Hi, I used to work as an internet technician and I am fairly good with computers and can do a pretty good amount with software, but as far as hardware goes, I don't know the first thing about installing new motherboards, etc. So I am helping my grandmother with her Windows 98 HP computer. When you push the power button, the fan of her computer turns on, but nothing else. The power button light turns green while you are pushing it in and then turns yellow when you let go. Also, there is a picture of a lock next to the powerbutton with a light above it, and that turned on and is orange, which is not normal. Usually when on the power button is green and that is it. So now we have a computer with only the fan running and a yellow and orange light. At first I thought her computer was stuck in some kind of standby mode, since the lock picture matches that on her keyboard for putting the system on standby, but if you turn it on and off it will only power on the fan. I tried using the lock button on the keyboard but it did nothing. I held the button in for a long time, and it the CPU made a strange noise lots of beeping (from something in the computer, not the speakers). I thought it had something to do with a power overload. (I remember overloading a ac adaptor in my car that made a similar sound when I plugged in with something that the wattage was too high.) I was able to get it on finally after pushing the button on and off and holding it in for a while, and then letting go, it FINALLY came on after about 10 minutes of trying and pushing the button. When it boots up, it gets all the way through to windows, then something says it's trying to connect to the internet but a connection is not available, then the computer would restart. This reminded me of the sasser virus, although I didn't think it affected 98 unless it does now. I went