Expert Opinion

Status
Not open for further replies.

steven1110

Baseband Member
I'm building a computer but I'm new to it. I've done my research on doing building and I'm confident but not quite confident enough. I've chosen my parts but I'd love a second/third/fourth opinion about it. I'm pretty sure everything is compatable but again would like an experts opinion.
Parts are as follows:

Motherboard: Asus A7V8X-X Socket A
Processor: AMD 2600+XP 333 FSB
Hard Drive: Western Digital WD400JB Cavier(40GB, 7200 RPM
8mb cache)
Memory: Ultra 512 MB PC2700 ddr 333mhz
Video Card: Connect3D Radeon 9200 256 mb ddr agp8x
CD-RW: Chieftec 52x24x52x model#TC3G-1006
Heatsink: Thermaltake Volcano 10+
Case: Soyo CX-5959

Any help would be appreciated. If I'm missing any part that I need tell me. Also if you've had problems with one of these components and wouldn't recommend it, please tell me.

Thanks,

Steven

Steven: Please do not cross post your questions in other forums. I removed your message about case fans as you asked this in the "Overclocking" forum. Thanks!!==== MicroBell

the only thing i can recommend is to spend a few more bucks to get a bigger hard disk. i would get at least 80-100GB+. especially if you have broadband, you will be glad you did.

Yes, other than the HDD being a little small, the only thing i might change is if you plan on doing a lot of gamming, you might want to upgrade to the 9600pro/XT, if you arnt going to be doing much gamming then the 9200 is fine. Definately get a little bigger HDD though :)

It might be an idea to get a Socket A mainboard that supports also 400 fsb AMD Processors. This for future upgrading, AMD has already anounced that they are to build faster one untill at least Q1 2005. Only the Athlon XP 3200+ has a FSB of 400 mhz right now. Whether or not you want to do this, i would get faster memory. ofcourse 400 mhz memory will support the mainboard with 400 mhz FSB, but your A7V8X-X also supports it.