Ebuyer DDR 400 Ram - Is this the route of all my problems ? You Decide.

Status
Not open for further replies.

braduk2

Beta member
Hello, 6 weeks ago i bought all the part for a system from http://www.ebuyer.co.uk I bought a;

PC Chips motherboard, Ebuyer DDR 400 512 Ram, Ahtlon 2500+ Hitachi 80gb HDD and all the other required parts for a system eg Keyboard and Case.

3 weeks previouse, i had a problem with a stick of Ebuyer DDR400 512 Ram so i sent it back, they agreed it was faulty and replaced it.

(Just like to ad i have been building computers for a couple of years now, i am no certified expert but can usualy sort out most issues and build good systems.)

I built this new system and before i could install windows XP i was having problems with the ram, "Page fault in non paged area" the same problem i got with the other fault stick.
I also turned of BIOS video shadowing as i know this can also cause the same problem.

Right away i sent it back and they once again replaced it with another stick of Ebuyer DDR 400 (Even thought i asked them to replace it with DDR 333, how incompatant !)

The replacement ram come yesterday and now i am not geting that error, BUT, i was unable to format the HDD in the windows instilation, it said the disk my be corrupt

So i took out the hard drive and put it in my computer, it worked fine. I also did a low level format, reset the master boot record and did a normal format, each time working fine. I even installed windows onto the drive - worked fine (In my computer).

But when i take it out and put it in the computer with the (What i belive to be) faulty ram, it does not work, when i try to re install windows it says the drive is fault, even after i installed windows onto the drive from my own computer it still does not read from the drive.

The furthest it gets is "verifying DMI pool data". Then the system hangs and does not do anything else.