CPU for Antec Aria

Status
Not open for further replies.

ilovesocks

In Runtime
I want to build my first computer in an Antec Aria, which comes with a 300W power supply.

I'd like to get an Athlon 64, but I hear they run hot, and I don't know if the Aria's 120mm fan can take care of it. If I use an AMD, here's what I'd get:

AOpen "MK89-L" nForce3 150 Chipset Motherboard Socket 754
AMD Athlon 64 3400+, 512k L2 Cache
OCZ Performance Series Dual Channel 2GB (1GBx2) DDR PC-3200

Here's the Intel setup:

AOpen "MK89-L" nForce3 150 Chipset Motherboard Socket 754
Intel Pentium 4/ 3.2E GHz 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache, HT Technology
OCZ Enhanced Latency Series Dual Channel Kits 2GB(512MBx4) DDR PC-3200

Either way, I'm going to use an ASUS nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT Video Card, 256MB GDDR3.

So, will the AMD be too hot in there? Are there any redundancies, bottlenecks, incompatibilities with these setups? I'm a noob and am not very interested in overclocking .. yet. Also, is 2GB of RAM overkill? I was thinking no because I'd like this computer to stay competitive for more than two years unlike this one (below).

Thanks!

I'd suggest you get Socket 939 for the AMD setup so that you can actually run that RAM in dual channel. Also if you get the 3500+ it has 1mb of L2 Cache.

Also I highly doubt that 300w will be sufficient for that system. You cant look solely on the wattage though. You need to make sure the PSU has strong rails. More specifically the +12v rail. I'd suggest getting one that's atleast 18a-22a rated.

I say this because that's a powerful mobo, CPU, vid card AND ram for that matter so you'll definitely want to make sure the PSU can deliver well beyond what the system needs. The general thought is you want to make sure your system never uses more than 75% of it's rated capabilities.

Shouldn't get too hot though although do you have a link to the case you're getting?