144hz monitor and 970 GPU. Do I need to adjust settings?

frldyz

In Runtime
I just got my Acer 144hz gaming monitor.
I have it connected to my MSI 970 GPU.

I just connected everything up lastnight and looks pretty good.
It came with 2 cables? DVI and D sub? Which connection should I use to get the best performance? It also has an HDMI and display.
Also. Does anything need to be set or adjusted right out of the box? I know I can adjust the color etc.. But does 144hz need to be set? Or is it 144hz right out of the box?

With my MSI 970 is there a option to adjust settings to maximize its performance? Or is it pretty much right out of the box all set and ready to go?
I just want to make sure I maximize my monitor and GPU to get the best performance and picture out of it.

Thank you

Win 7 64bit
Samsung 850 500gb pro SSD
Corsair HX750 PSU
MSI GTX 970 GPU
Acer 144hz monitor

This post might sound silly, but I am still new to all of this. If I di need t adjust setting on either component where do I go and what do I want to check.

Acer GN246HL Black 24" 1ms 144hz HDMI Widescreen LED Backlight LCD 3D Monitor 350 cd/m2 100,000,000:1 - Newegg.com

I'm using the dvid cable it came with on mine and I had to go on displays options to set it to 144z. It was reading at 60hz b4

Where you able to set to 144hz from the settings on the monitor itself? Or do I need to go into the control panel and adjust the settings to 44hz?

So right out of he box right now it's 60hz ?

I assume 144hz is just sick compared to 60hz?

Got it set to 144hz. Holy crap! Some videos almost make me naucious and dizzy. Now I regret not buying 2 of these when new egg had them for $180.

If I do buy another 1. Do I need or is it rec. that j get another Msi 970? I believe my msi only has 1 DVI port? Or is it ok to connect to the vga, hdmi or display port with out sacraficing performance from the monitor and gpu?