system diagnosis? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2020, 07:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 789
Default system diagnosis?

my daughters computer started acting up after she sat a plate full of food onto the keyboard, and then turned the computer on. it came up to a screen that said on overclocking attempt was unsuccessful. i fiddled around with it trying to make it work, which i could not. so i ended up reinstalling windows on it. it worked fine for 2 days. then the same unsuccessful overclocking screen came back up. i have a feeling that she has some sort of hardware problem. my first thought is ram memory, as there has been a failure in this system in the past. but at that time, the computer had 2 sticks of ram, so we just pulled one out (which of course took 2 tries) this computer takes DDR3 ram, and of course is the only computer in the house that does. is there some kind of software that can find bad components? if not, the only thing i would know to do is buy new ram (which i would buy 2 sticks), and replace the one that is in there.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB, HGST Ultrastar 3 TB, HP Lightscribe DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Thermaltake 500w PSU.NVIDIA GTX1060 3GB
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TechnoChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Orbiting Jupiter
Posts: 255
Default Re: system diagnosis?

This is a laptop,correct? " she sat a plate full of food onto the keyboard" Does that mean that she spilled food on the keyboard or that she just rested the plate on the keyboard?

Is it the BIOS that is giving the overclocking failed message or is it windows?

I would try pulling up the boot menu and manually selecting the windows drive.

Can you give us the specs of your computer?
__________________

__________________
"The thing I like about Whiskey is that it looks like iced tea. And the thing I like about iced tea is that you can take it to work."-Kermit the Frog
TechnoChicken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 12:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 789
Default Re: system diagnosis?

Sorry, i forgot to do that. it is my sons old gaming computer. home built, asus z97a motherboard, intel i-7 4770k it originally had 16gb of vengance ram, but after one stick died, its been running on just one stick. it has a gigabite gtx970 grapnics card, i can not remember what the power supply is, but i know it is (or at least was at the time) one of the better p.s. made. she did not spill anything. i think what happened is some of the keys were pushed when she turned the computer on. whether it made it into the bios or not, or what it did is a mystery, because she shut it off and tried restarting ti again after she had removed the plate.
__________________
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB, HGST Ultrastar 3 TB, HP Lightscribe DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Thermaltake 500w PSU.NVIDIA GTX1060 3GB
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TechnoChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Orbiting Jupiter
Posts: 255
Default Re: system diagnosis?

So yet again,did you try manually selecting the boot drive? And can you post some pictures?
__________________
"The thing I like about Whiskey is that it looks like iced tea. And the thing I like about iced tea is that you can take it to work."-Kermit the Frog
TechnoChicken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 09:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,253
Default Re: system diagnosis?

This one's easy. If I'm correct, that board has an easy tuning wizard that's accessible by hitting F11 on the post screen. More than likely some things were pressed and a clear CMOS should do the trick. Either that or manually set CPU/RAM settings back to stock in the bios.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 11:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TechnoChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Orbiting Jupiter
Posts: 255
Default Re: system diagnosis?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
This one's easy. If I'm correct, that board has an easy tuning wizard that's accessible by hitting F11 on the post screen. More than likely some things were pressed and a clear CMOS should do the trick. Either that or manually set CPU/RAM settings back to stock in the bios.
Ah,yes you may want to look up the BIOS reset for your mobo
__________________
"The thing I like about Whiskey is that it looks like iced tea. And the thing I like about iced tea is that you can take it to work."-Kermit the Frog
TechnoChicken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 03:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
i2D
i 2 D 2
 
i2D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: system diagnosis?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechnoChicken View Post
Ah,yes you may want to look up the BIOS reset for your mobo
Ah Yeah defo want to do that
__________________
i2D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 07:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 789
Default Re: system diagnosis?

thanks guys for all the help. my son (who built the machine) came home yesterday from college (boy THAT makes me feel OLD!). He looked at it, and said that the memory stick is most likely the cause. among other things, the memory problem led was light. (who knew there was such a thing?) so, its off to newegg to get memory. and hopefully, that will fix it. if not, at least he is here to deal with it. i really am not tech oriented. where to him, its second nature. that makes a BIG difference.





















9boy that makes me feel old!
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, MSI B150m PRO-VHL, Intel i-5 6500, 16gb G.Skill DDR4, WD Blue 1TB, HGST Ultrastar 3 TB, HP Lightscribe DVDRW , LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner, Thermaltake 500w PSU.NVIDIA GTX1060 3GB
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advanced Startup Diagnosis and Configuration Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-30-2005 10:24 PM
Basic diagnosis guidelines for your PC to find out whatÂ’s troubling it! priyanka Off Topic Discussion 1 04-20-2005 02:52 PM
Computer Diagnosis Program Completenoob Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-26-2004 01:52 PM
quick PSU diagnosis needed (is it dead or is it something else) sloppycoder Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 08-31-2004 02:30 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.