Ran dskchk for corrupt external hard drive, need to restore missing files asap

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkonuk

Beta member
Ran chkdsk for corrupt external hard drive, need to restore missing files asap

Hello everyone and happy 4th of July! I have a Windows XP 2004 edition on a Dell Inspiron 9300. I have two external hard drives, one is a 250gb simpletech that I have been using for two years, and the other is a just yesterday bought 500gb seagate. Today the simpletech had problems and reportedly was corrupted. Windows told me to run chkdsk, so I did, and lo and behold the files on the external hard drive were deleted. Actually, they are still there (the same amount of disc space remains), but when I go into Explorer to look at the files, all that comes up is one folder of music, and when I click on it an error message pops up saying the data cannot be displayed. As far as I can tell, running chkdsk did not affect my C: drive or my other external hard drive that I just bought.

I have spent a couple hours researching how to proceed. I don't know too much about computers, but one recurring theme I keep running into is I need to find out whether I am having a problem with the hard drive or the software. Some people say I should create an image of the corrupted drive before doing anything else. Others say to run GetDataBack (I have used 249gb/250gb of the drive, and because it is a large drive it would be NTFS not FAV right?).

Here is a question I sent to GetDataBack support. You don't necessarily have to read it, but it talks about how I'm not sure how to use the GetDataBack software correctly.