a possible build, plz critique?

Status
Not open for further replies.

funkywaggnelz

In Runtime
My budget is about 1000 USD. I've never built a computer myself before, but I have been reading a lot of what you all had to say in other threads and I think this seems like an OK build but I just wanted to check it with you guys and get your opinions. This build has to last me through the rest of school with minimal upgrades. Also, I would like to overclock this. Lemme know if it is any good, plz

Processor- Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor - Retail 186.00

Graphics- Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail 289.99 (-20)

Motherboard- Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 (rev. 1.3) LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail 99.99

RAM- Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail 109.99

Case- Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-WW Black/Silver Aluminum Bezel, SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail 49.99

Power- Newegg.com - Rosewill RP550-2 ATX 2.01 550W Power Supply 115/230 V CSA, CB, TUV, FCC, UL - Retail 54.99

Monitor- Newegg.com - ViewSonic Optiquest Series Q19wb Black 19" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 700:1 Built in Speakers - Retail 189.99 (-40)

HDD- I don't know yet. What is this whole perpendicular recording thing?

i dont think the perpendicular thing matters, just choose the once which connects to a sata cable, and how big of a space u want. thats a good build, but if u wanna save some money, go with a e6320 and overclock that bad boy with an artic frezeer 7. also if u have the money, consider a bigger monitor.

He won't need a bigger monitor. It fits the budget fine. And the 320 is well suited for that size of a monitor.

I'd suggest this, for a hard drive:
Seagate 7200.10 320GB 16mb cache