Custom Built vs. Pre-built vs. Gaming laptop. HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

scepstein

Solid State Member
Hi there.

I'll start off by saying I'm a hardware noob, so take that into account when reading this/answering.

I'm not a professional or extremely hard-core gamer, but I'm getting a new PC and I definitely want something that I can play pretty much anything on (inc. high-end games like Crysis) with ease, not only now but also in the future (I want it to last a while!). My budget is roughly $2000.

I have three questions:

1. With that sort of budget, am I better off going for a custom-built pc or something pre-built (such as Acer Aspire Predator GT7700)? What are the advantages of each?
2. I'm not in a terrible rush to get a new PC, so should I wait for a certain date (i.e. Windows 7 or a new processor to come out) or is any time good to buy?
3. I also need a laptop, which I would be using just for work (i.e. college), and therefore don't NEED anything spectacular. I would have extra money for the laptop, i.e. it doesn't take away from my $2000 budget. Should I get a gaming PC + a decent laptop (nothing fancy at all), or instead look into combining the two and get a really nice gaming laptop (in which case I could pool my pc + laptop budgets) which I would use at home as a PC? Remember I want something good, but it doesn't have to be mind-blowing, which is why I'm considering a gaming laptop. I have no idea about the market for those and was wondering whether you had any advice.

If you could spare a moment of your time to respond it would be really appreciated.

Thanks

To respond via email, contact me here: scepstein@hotmail.com