Brand new build, halp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2020, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 324
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Brand new build, halp

Hey guys,
I'm a little out of sync with hardware nowadays, but I was helped here like 7 years ago, and that PC is only just showing true signs of his age, so time for a new one.

I just bought a 1TB 860 EVO SSD, so i'll stick that in, but I have it already so please don't recommend replacing it, just pretend i made the right choice. I'm assuming i'll be upgrading, but my current PC has a pretty solid 600w Corsair PSU. It's like 8 years old at this point, but would it be a waste to replace it? I've also got one of those tiny wifi cards that i'd like to put in this, but i'm assuming those pci slots are standard.
So, this is what i'm thinking. I have no idea what the current CPU/GPU climate is, so please tell me what you'd change. Or if i've forgotten anything, that'd be embarrassing:

CPU: Intel CORE I5-9600K - £220
GPU: RX 5700 - £280
RAM: Corsair 16GB 3200mhz - £72
MOBO: ASUS STRIX H270F - £65
PSU: Corsair VS650 - £50
CASE: Corsair Carbide 100R - £45

I'll thoroughly appreciate any help,
Cheers lads!
__________________

__________________
I have too many rubber ducks. Send help.
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 05:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,133
Default Re: Brand new build, halp

You will need to change the board to something newer that supports 9th gen like a Z390.

I'd also advise against the 5700 with the teething problems it's still having.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 08:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 324
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Re: Brand new build, halp

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You will need to change the board to something newer that supports 9th gen like a Z390.
Oh okay, I thought it just needed an LGA 1151 socket. What is it I should be looking for?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I'd also advise against the 5700 with the teething problems it's still having.
Cool, what should I be looking at around that price range ($300) then? RTX 2060 perhaps? Or is the last generation of RX's a better pick? And if so, what is the last generation? I'm really really out of sync here, and AMD don't appear to be following normal versioning and it's slightly confusing

Thanks for your help!
__________________
I have too many rubber ducks. Send help.
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,133
Default Re: Brand new build, halp

Quote:
Originally Posted by danhodge View Post
Oh okay, I thought it just needed an LGA 1151 socket. What is it I should be looking for?



Cool, what should I be looking at around that price range ($300) then? RTX 2060 perhaps? Or is the last generation of RX's a better pick? And if so, what is the last generation? I'm really really out of sync here, and AMD don't appear to be following normal versioning and it's slightly confusing

Thanks for your help!
Like I said a Z390 board, ASRock Pro or Extreme 4. B365 is also an option if stock is available.

The 5700 is more like a 2070 performance wise. They're good cards just have problems because of drivers. 300 isn't enough to get an Nvidia card on the same level.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 324
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Re: Brand new build, halp

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Like I said a Z390 board, ASRock Pro or Extreme 4. B365 is also an option if stock is available.

The 5700 is more like a 2070 performance wise. They're good cards just have problems because of drivers. 300 isn't enough to get an Nvidia card on the same level.
Fair enough, i'll pick one out now, I don't know why I'd thought socket was the only important thing.
This might be another 2 weeks or so, if i don't mind waiting for hotfixes would you recommend I still go for the 5700, or go for something like the 590? I'm happy not grabbing an nvidia card, i've only ever had AMD so far.
__________________
I have too many rubber ducks. Send help.
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 03:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,133
Default Re: Brand new build, halp

Socket is the only thing that matters, the limitations are nothing more than Intel being greedy.

A 590 is significantly less performance than a 5700.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 05:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,727
Default Re: Brand new build, halp

I am running a 5700 XT, a PowerColor Red Devil to be exact. The only issue I have had was having to set my PCI-E to x3 to use a PCI-E extension cable with my AsRock X570 Extreme Wifi AX board. Not sure if the issue is with the card or the board or the X570 chipset but I am thinking it is one of the last two. Oh, and I am running three 1080 screens in 5760x1080, plus a 1280x1024 screen above them, gaming on the tri-screen.
__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Black 750GB / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 09:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,133
Default Re: Brand new build, halp

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
I am running a 5700 XT, a PowerColor Red Devil to be exact. The only issue I have had was having to set my PCI-E to x3 to use a PCI-E extension cable with my AsRock X570 Extreme Wifi AX board. Not sure if the issue is with the card or the board or the X570 chipset but I am thinking it is one of the last two. Oh, and I am running three 1080 screens in 5760x1080, plus a 1280x1024 screen above them, gaming on the tri-screen.
It's 100% PCI-E 4 and the current cables not being able to adhere to the signaling. It's a rather common issues a lot of sites picked up on and talked about.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 04:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 324
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Re: Brand new build, halp

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Socket is the only thing that matters, the limitations are nothing more than Intel being greedy.

A 590 is significantly less performance than a 5700.
I see. So is there something in between? I'm really struggling to understand what's been going on with AMD releases over the last couple of years
What card would you get with that build? Lets say $350 max
__________________
I have too many rubber ducks. Send help.
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2020, 09:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,133
Default Re: Brand new build, halp

Radeon Group has been in ****ville lately honestly. They can't catch some luck if it smacked them in the face.

You got the 5600XT that hangs around 2060 performance. Your best bet is find a used 1080ti for that money or just stick with the 5700. With everything going on in the world right now it's hard to get decent prices.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New i7 build. Clearance issues and all comments welcomed. Halp! billy5772 System Upgrades 0 05-26-2009 09:25 PM
Halp!!! Tankhead02 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-09-2007 02:20 AM
Halp i get no sound solid102 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-02-2006 12:34 AM
Need halp fast computer shuts off right after booting!! mikee Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 07-03-2006 09:07 PM
My nvidia GF 5700LE... HALP!!! Mus Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-23-2005 11:22 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.