Upgrading from 9 year old build - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2020, 06:43 PM   #51 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TechnoChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Orbiting Jupiter
Posts: 250
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

is that the plate that the CPU cooler screws to? Does the plate align with the screwholes on the CPU cooler?

You ordered the one that PP threw together right? The $2700 one?
__________________

__________________
"The thing I like about Whiskey is that it looks like iced tea. And the thing I like about iced tea is that you can take it to work."-Kermit the Frog
TechnoChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 06:51 PM   #52 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 59
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechnoChicken View Post
is that the plate that the CPU cooler screws to? Does the plate align with the screwholes on the CPU cooler?

You ordered the one that PP threw together right? The $2700 one?
Yes, I ordered the PP suggested configuration. Figured it out. The specs hadn't been updated for the new LGA1200 socket since it was new. It is supported even though it isn't listed in the specs as supported. I just needed to adjust the back plate a bit to get to fit. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Foozle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 05:27 AM   #53 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TechnoChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Orbiting Jupiter
Posts: 250
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

Glad you figured it out!
__________________
"The thing I like about Whiskey is that it looks like iced tea. And the thing I like about iced tea is that you can take it to work."-Kermit the Frog
TechnoChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 07:18 AM   #54 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,252
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

They say they're supported because the socket holes are all in the same place. It's been that way for years so I never worry about it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 01:01 PM   #55 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 59
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
They say they're supported because the socket holes are all in the same place. It's been that way for years so I never worry about it.
One other issue I'm running into is that the Phanteks Eclipse P600s has a USB 3.1 Gen 2 Type - C socket on the front panel, but the ASRock Z490 Phantom Gaming 4 motheroboard doesn't have a socket available to plug it into. Is that something I'm going to miss badly if I don't have on front panel - enough to where I'd want to get a motherboard that supports that connection, or should I not worry about it and leave it disabled?

I'm guessing the partpicker site doesn't check compatibility down to that level and I would have needed to manually compare all the connections from chassis to motherboard myself before purchasing?

Thanks
__________________
Foozle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 02:02 PM   #56 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,252
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

The only boards that have that specific front panel socket are double the cost of the current board. It would be cheaper to get a type A to type C adapter and later on if you decide to upgrade the boards with that port should be cheaper and more standard. The Type A ports should still require a standard USB 3 header so really no loss unless you just absolutely need a Type C on the front.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 02:13 PM   #57 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 59
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
The only boards that have that specific front panel socket are double the cost of the current board. It would be cheaper to get a type A to type C adapter and later on if you decide to upgrade the boards with that port should be cheaper and more standard. The Type A ports should still require a standard USB 3 header so really no loss unless you just absolutely need a Type C on the front.
Great. I'll just wait and see if I ever need the type C on the front and if so, I can get an adapter at that point.

Thanks
__________________
Foozle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 02:29 PM   #58 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TechnoChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Orbiting Jupiter
Posts: 250
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

are there no USB C ports on the back?
__________________
"The thing I like about Whiskey is that it looks like iced tea. And the thing I like about iced tea is that you can take it to work."-Kermit the Frog
TechnoChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 09:24 PM   #59 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,252
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechnoChicken View Post
are there no USB C ports on the back?
Yea, there's one on the back.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 05:37 AM   #60 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TechnoChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Orbiting Jupiter
Posts: 250
Default Re: Upgrading from 9 year old build

One is not a lot but as long as he has one there he shouldn't need one on the front, It would just be inconvenient.
__________________

__________________
"The thing I like about Whiskey is that it looks like iced tea. And the thing I like about iced tea is that you can take it to work."-Kermit the Frog
TechnoChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« Mixed RAM timings | - »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading 4 year old computer new.puree System Upgrades 5 01-06-2010 08:54 PM
Upgrading 3+ year old system Falconsbane System Upgrades 13 08-27-2008 02:41 PM
Upgrading a 5 year old system with $500 golumstoe System Upgrades 46 07-21-2008 11:58 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.