A New Hard drive Purchase - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2019, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
spacecadet11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 259
Smile A New Hard drive Purchase

Hello.

If I were to buy a new hd drive for my desktop...will I be able to load the

old operating system on it?

Is there more than 'one' instance of loading an operating system allowed?

Thx.
__________________

__________________
spacecadet11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 04:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kalju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 167
Default Re: A New Hard drive Purchase

Quote:
Originally Posted by spacecadet11 View Post
Hello.
  1. If I were to buy a new hd drive for my desktop...will I be able to load the old operating system on it?
  2. Is there more than 'one' instance of loading an operating system allowed?
Thx.
1. Yes, it is possible but my personal recommendation is to copy only the files and reinstall the OP system. I also recommend reinstalling all programs.
The reason is very simple - you avoid errors and damaged programs and files being transferred to the new system, as well as old and corrupted registry data.
In addition to these, there are many other problems that can arise when cloning an old system. For example files and folders userpermissions etc.
So, if You want to get new fully functional and fully correct OP system, install it to new system, then copy Your files and install programs and You may be sure that You have got clean and correctly functioning system.
2. Yes, it is possible, but depends on Your main system what other systems will work correctly. Usually many people instal also some Linux version, but my recommendation is to use on one computer one OP system if not possible to use different hard drive for the second OP system. I do not recommend to use on the same hard drive two or more OP systems on different partitions and dual booting.
Yes, it's true, it is possible and works, but the question is - how it works.
Decide yourself, what you do, but this is my recommendation.
Good luck.
__________________

__________________
kalju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 06:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,726
Default Re: A New Hard drive Purchase

I usually clone my drive over using Acronis.
__________________
CM Mastercase H500 / Corsair RM650 Modular / AMD Ryzen 5 3600X / SilverStone PF240 AiO Cooler
AsRock X570 Extreme4 WiFi AX / 4x8GB XPG Specrix RGB 3200MHz / PowerColor Red Devil Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVMe / Crucial P1 1TB NVMe / WD Black 750GB / WD Blue 2TB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer Mamaba Wireless / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical
3xSceptre E255B-1658A 24.5" 165Hz + NEC MultiSync LCD1970GX 19" (in 3+1 configuration)

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 08:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,959
Default Re: A New Hard drive Purchase

You can clone your drive as Trotter suggested, or reinstall fresh using install media provided from Microsoft.

If you're using Windows 10, make sure you're signed into a Microsoft account in the Settings -> Updates & Security -> Activation section, and your digital license will be re-applied, so your OS will be activated.

If you're not using Windows 10, then you'll need to make sure that you have your product key available to re-enter during reinstall.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Google Pixel XL


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: ****
Posts: 3
Default Re: A New Hard drive Purchase

If Your PC Supports it, get an SSD. It loads stuff faster than HDDs.
__________________
Diligamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hooking old internal hard drive into new external hard drive bigdan System Upgrades 7 11-14-2011 11:52 AM
Hard drive died, I have a backup, but how do I get it onto the new hard drive Jawnskeel Microsoft Windows and Software 2 10-13-2011 01:16 PM
Does 24/7 hard drive usage break down hard drive webwierdo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-03-2006 03:31 PM
How to copy from slave hard drive to master hard drive? blackninja Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 03-26-2005 07:06 PM
Move 30GB Hard Drive Data To New 120GB Hard Drive DavidWatersUGP Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 11-19-2004 07:24 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.