What is the stupidest thing anybody has ever said to you?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jseber1982

Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
I finally heard one yesterday that will be with me for the rest of my life.

I work as a datacenter engineer at one of the 3 letter gov agencies. You would think that people in IT here would have an IT background.

We got a new manager last week and he was asking me some questions about a server i was building out to spec. Usually IT managers specifically have done technical work in the past and they work their way up the chain.

The server i built was using 4 drives in Raid 5. Had 2 open slots.

The customer came up with another requirement which needed more space. So my boss was emailing the customer about it and i was CCed.

This is what my boss told the customer..... Currently we do not have enough physical disk storage slots on the server to have another raid 5 array. I will have my engineer install another disk, break that disk up into 3 partitions, and then he will strip those partitions as a raid 5 array........REALLY??????

If that was even possible.... that drive would die so quick. I would feel sorry for those read\write heads having to write to 3 places on the drive at the same time... every time.

Whenever I hear something along the lines of "Science is BS and has offered us nothing".
Especially when this term is used by those who buy medicine, drive cars, use computers, etc.
Science is all around us and involved with the devices we use on a constant basis.

I finally heard one yesterday that will be with me for the rest of my life.

I work as a datacenter engineer at one of the 3 letter gov agencies. You would think that people in IT here would have an IT background.

We got a new manager last week and he was asking me some questions about a server i was building out to spec. Usually IT managers specifically have done technical work in the past and they work their way up the chain.