Potentially the longest thread in history...

If one door closes and another one opens, your house is haunted and you need to GTFO.

I have a very stupid question.

Do you guys ever play with your server? So like do you ever do something on it then strip the system back and change things around or do you when having a purposes for a machine ever simply just leave it.

Because I have done so much over the years from jumping from topic to top and a lot of what I know is self taught I have never settled on a project. Take my server for example. I have just installed Ubuntu 18.04 and I'm not sure how long it will last as I have just set up a file server using various software.

Do any of you guys run multiple servers each with their own individual use.

Anyone give feed back on this?

I have a very stupid question.

Do you guys ever play with your server? So like do you ever do something on it then strip the system back and change things around or do you when having a purposes for a machine ever simply just leave it.

Because I have done so much over the years from jumping from topic to top and a lot of what I know is self taught I have never settled on a project. Take my server for example. I have just installed Ubuntu 18.04 and I'm not sure how long it will last as I have just set up a file server using various software.

Do any of you guys run multiple servers each with their own individual use.

Anyone give feed back on this?
At the moment I have my work server where I can't play with any of the hardware, but I have 384GB RAM and 4 8-core Xeons to play with so I'm happy with that.

My home server I change up fairly frequently. It's on an i5 4460T with 24GB RAM and a single 120GB SSD. I'm looking to make it more fileservery in the future but I mess around with VMs a lot - I currently have Palo Alto, FortiGate, and Windows Server 2016 VMs running on there.